GoStats is a free website stats program

This site uses cookies. You can find out more or change your browser settings if you prefer. However, by continuing to use the site without changing settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Follow H2

Where Did It Come From?
Sundays 7.05PM SIN/HK

Where Did It Come From?

This series will explore the historical origins of things we use in our everyday life - from modern medicine, from the weapons of mass destruction, from sports stadiums to tools of astrology. Organized by civilization or culture, we will learn how these ancient inventions were developed, why they were developed, and how they've contributed to modern society. Along the way, we will also learn about the life of that civilization or culture.

Ancient China: Drilling And Mining
Michael Guillen travels to China to explore the site of ancient drilling rigs that drilled over 3000 feet and shows how they piped the gas through bamboo pipes to fuel salt evaporation factories.
Upcoming Airings:
  • Sunday,24 Dec, 2017 - 19:05
  • Monday,25 Dec, 2017 - 01:30
  • Monday,25 Dec, 2017 - 08:05
  • Monday,25 Dec, 2017 - 13:35
Ancient Greece: Weapons Of Mass Destruct
A journey takes place to Greece to examine the ancient origins of weapons of mass destruction like computer-guided nuclear warheads, anthrax and Sarin gas.
Upcoming Airings:
  • Sunday,31 Dec, 2017 - 19:05
  • Monday,1 Jan, 2018 - 01:30
Ancient China: The Personal Weapon
Host Michael Guillen explores how certain weapons invented by the ancient Chinese have contributed to nearly every military weapon in use today.
Ancient Egypt: Modern Medicine
The host travels to Egypt to the temple of Kom Ombo where surgical instruments dating back to 2500 BC can be plainly seen carved on the temple wall.
Ancient China: Masters Of The Wind And W
The host demonstrates how the ancient Chinese paper and silk-making skills allowed them to make lighter than air objects and study their behaviour aloft.
Ancient Greece: Modern Ship Building
The host travels to Greece for a first-hand look at how the maritime expertise of ancient Greece evolved. He examines a modern reproduction of the famed trireme.
Upcoming Airings:
  • Sunday,26 Nov, 2017 - 19:05
  • Monday,27 Nov, 2017 - 01:30
  • Monday,27 Nov, 2017 - 08:05
  • Monday,27 Nov, 2017 - 13:35
  • Wednesday,29 Nov, 2017 - 21:50
  • Thursday,30 Nov, 2017 - 03:25
  • Thursday,30 Nov, 2017 - 14:30
Ancient China: Agriculture
Host Michael Guillen travels to China to explore the roots of modern agricultural genius and studies how the ancient Chinese invented advanced farming technology over a thousand years.
Upcoming Airings:
  • Sunday,3 Dec, 2017 - 19:05
  • Monday,4 Dec, 2017 - 01:30
  • Monday,4 Dec, 2017 - 08:05
  • Monday,4 Dec, 2017 - 13:35
  • Wednesday,6 Dec, 2017 - 21:50
  • Thursday,7 Dec, 2017 - 03:25
  • Thursday,7 Dec, 2017 - 14:30
Ancient Rome: The Mobile Society
The host travels to the heart of the Roman Empire to examine its civil engineering project that resulted in a 53-thousand mile network of highways across the kingdom.
Upcoming Airings:
  • Sunday,10 Dec, 2017 - 19:05
  • Monday,11 Dec, 2017 - 01:30
  • Monday,11 Dec, 2017 - 08:05
  • Monday,11 Dec, 2017 - 13:35
  • Wednesday,13 Dec, 2017 - 21:50
  • Thursday,14 Dec, 2017 - 03:25
  • Thursday,14 Dec, 2017 - 14:30
Ancient Egypt: Iconic Structures
The host travels to Egypt to understand how monumental masterpieces including the Great Pyramid and the Temple of Karnak were designed with primitive tools and labour.
Upcoming Airings:
  • Sunday,17 Dec, 2017 - 19:05
  • Monday,18 Dec, 2017 - 01:30
  • Monday,18 Dec, 2017 - 08:05
  • Monday,18 Dec, 2017 - 13:35
  • Wednesday,20 Dec, 2017 - 21:50
  • Thursday,21 Dec, 2017 - 03:25
  • Thursday,21 Dec, 2017 - 14:30